Scared Slow

I have to run 12 miles for the first time ever tomorrow. Ask me if I’m scared…did you ask me??  Why, yes. Yes I am!

Everything I read about running marathons says that the most important thing to focus on is finishing. Its not about how long it takes. Sounds good right?

But think about it for a second – the slower you run, the longer its going to take you. So if my 5 mile pace is 11 mins. per mile, it would take me 132 minutes or 2 hours and 12 minutes to finish 12 miles. But if I slow down to say 13 minutes a mile to make sure I can finish, its going to take me more than 2 1/2 hours to finish. That’s a lot of running! (Did anyone else just get a little confused by all that math??)

But I guess that’s the dilemma of all marathon runners, determining the right pace to run without sacrificing tons of time. I just know that for me the fear of not being able to finish 12 miles is great enough that I could end up running unnecessarily slow. I’d hate to finish in 3 hours when I could have finished in 2:20 or something.

(Man, I can’t wait til I can run a 6 minute mile!! How long until I can do that??)  😀

So the training kicks it up a notch tomorrow. Before this the furthest I’d run is 10 miles. But I did it and I finished in good time. (Don’t ask me what it was, I forget.) This is just 2 more teeny, tiny miles right?? Right! Alright then, let’s go, yo!!

Du du duuh, du du duuh… (to the tune of Rocky)

🙂

This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Scared Slow

  1. ruben says:

    You’ve got the eye of the tiger, its the thrill of the fight, rising up to the challenge of your rivals…this is an intense thing you are doing. The mental strength you have to have is crazy. Maybe having four kids and a husband is the kind of prep work needed to do this well.

Leave a Reply

