Hardly Ever Say Never

I know people say, “Never say never,” but doesn’t that statement kind of cancel itself out? Like a big old statement-cancelling, say the opposite of what you’re saying, statement??? (I know there’s a word for that, but for now what it is escapes me.)

I was really afraid that maybe I would actually never be able to run again. I mean it had been weeks since I could run without pain and I worried everyday that maybe in my ignorance I had done permanent damage to my shin. I couldn’t even knock out a quick mile without limping for days afterwards. That’s pretty bad if you’re in training to run 26 of those bad boys.

But today for the first time in weeks, I ran without any pain. No knee pain, No shin pain. It was totally awesome!! Of course I came home and iced my leg and popped 2 ibuprofen just in case, but when I stood up, no pain. I was so happy I wanted to cry. Or go out and run another 3.5 miles in celebration but that would’ve probably been stupid, huh??Β  πŸ™‚

I think sometimes you have to say never. I will never be a size 2 super model. I will never be an astro-physicist. I will never be the president of communist Russia. But I will run a marathon one day, and one day sooner rather than later.

(Oxymoron!!! That’s what its called. Man that was gonna bug me…)

πŸ™‚

This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged . Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to Hardly Ever Say Never

  1. Cristie says:

    I said it before, I’ll be saying it decades from now and I am shouting it right now, MY SISTER IS A BEAST. So proud of you!!! You are the inspiring story I came up with when I said we should start running. And you’re not wating around on me. You’re the story all by yourself. But I am going to catch up. I’ll never pass you (see what I did there), but I will cath up.

  2. It is awesome to see you on the roads again…
    Healing is a strange thing, we need it to get our bodies back to their best, but it also prevents us from doing what we enjoy to do. I believe the idea of “absence making the heart grow fonder” can apply to exercise as well. All this time away has made you even stronger mentally, because you are even more determined. What an wonderful testimony you are! Keep going!

Leave a comment