When It Rains, It Drizzles

Anyone who knows me knows there are a few things I don’t like. I don’t like tomatoes. I don’t like cold weather. I don’t like surpises. And I don’t like being out in the rain.

Not just out in the rain, but out in the rain. (If that makes no sense, in a minute it will.) What I mean is not only do I not like getting wet walking around in the rain, I don’t like driving in the rain. I don’t like running from the mall to the store in the rain. I don’t like stepping out onto the porch to get the mail in the rain. If it’s raining outside, I want to be inside. At all times.

So why didn’t anyone tell me that marathon runners may, on occasion, have to run in the rain?! I mean if you’re halfway into a marathon and it starts raining, you can’t just stop running and go home. Well you can but you’d look like a punk. No, you keep going.

I had my very first experience with running in the rain the other day. It rained through the night, but when I woke up that morning it wasn’t raining. And since I also don’t like running on treadmills (does my “things I don’t like” list seem to be getting longer by the minute?), I went outside to run in my neighborhood. I was running 6 miles and at mile 3 it started to rain. Hard. Well dang, I’m halfway done and I am not starting this run all over again when the rain stops. So I keep going, hoping it will stop.

Wouldn’t you know it, a few minutes later, just like that, it stops. Woo-hoo!! But then it starts again, and stops. And starts. And stops. And starts… And stops… It rains off and on for the rest of my run. And not hard enough to make me give up and go hide on someone’s porch until Ruben can come get me. No, it does that annoying drizzle thing rain does to get you wet enough to be uncomfortable but not soaking. So against my will, I keep going and finish.

Now I know you’d love to hear me say that it was amazing. That running in the rain was refreshing and not at all what I thought it would be. And I’d love to say that…but I can’t. I realized something that my husband has learned over the years…I was right all along! :-)(I’m gonna pay for that later. Maybe Ruben won’t read this one.) It was awful, messy, and now I was sweaty, dirty, and soggy from head to toe. I really don’t like running in the rain.

But I did learn something else. The rain really didn’t matter. I was out there to run, so I ran. Rain shouldn’t keep me from doing what I’m supposed to be doing. And since I have no control over the weather (wouldn’t it be fun if I did?!), I’d better just be about mine. So rain, rain, go away. Come again  another day. But I will run today.

🙂

This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to When It Rains, It Drizzles

  1. Well this is developing your get’r done mentality…but I do know that sugar melts in the rain, so it’s no surprise you don’t like it.

    • JoAnn Williams says:

      good thing God renews mamas supply of sugar whenever it’s needed cuase he just loves us like that.

  2. JoAnn Williams says:

    hey kiddo i think that the fact that you kept on in spite of your inhabitions and dislikes is an inspiration to others to keep on keepin on thur whatever obsticles they may face – that’s the kind of determanation that will made you the winner ! ! sooooo keep on keepin on baby. yo mama

Leave a Reply

