The Marathon is Coming, The Marathon is Coming!

I have officially picked the marathon I’m going to run. It’s called Running For The Bay, in beautiful Apalachicola Bay, Florida. I’m so excited! (And I just can’t hide it. I’m about to lose control and I think I like it! …Sorry, had a corny Pointer Sisters moment.)

It’s 4 months away which is really good for me. I’ve had to slow down my marathon training a bit. I’m still running 4 days a week but just not as many miles as I’m supposed to be running on my “long run” days. According to my schedule I should probably be running 20 miles already. But as I was doing more research on marathon training I discovered something quite interesting. (Not interesting like when I discovered that the main character in Black Swan was actually turning into a swan… Can you say creepiest movie ever?!? No, it was more “ah-ha” interesting.)

What I found out was that my knees and other muscles were going to be more prone to injury if they were not strong enough to support the heavy mileage I was running. That’s why it seemed like I couldn’t recover fully from my injuries…my legs, my core, my buttocks were all really weak. (My daughter says my butt talks…Ā Ā  šŸ™‚ ) So that meant I had to introduce strength and resistance training into my program.

So now I run for 4 days, cross-train for 1 day, strength train for 1 day, and 1 day of rest. That sounds like a lot and if I wasn’t doing it I might be tempted to yell, “WOMAN ARE YOU NUTS?! YOU CAN’T DO ALL THAT!” But the truth is anything you want to do well requires a ton of effort and serious commitment. I mean you gotta be committed like a dog with a bone. (Or like my oldest daughter with a bone. When she was 2 I had to let her go to sleep with a chicken bone in her hand because after she finished the chicken she would not let go of the bone. True story.)Ā  šŸ™‚

We are so easily affected by what others do. And I say that in a good way. If you’re kind, your kindness is noticed. If you’re mean, you better believe that’s noticed as well. If you succeed at something cool, others will use it as inspiration. Think about Ghandi or Martin Luther King, Jr. My personal weight loss inspirations are the contestants of The Biggest Loser. Every time I watch that show I put down the cheesecake and pick up a rice cake. Well, not really, but it does remind me that I’m on a journey to lose weight.

On the flip side of that, if you start something and give up, others will be affected as well. Not only do we live vicariously through others so that when they win it brightens our day, when they lose heart and throw in the towel we lose a little heart too. And it works no matter what, just depends on the focus. If someone is selfish and they see someone get what they want by being selfish, it will drive them to be more selfish. However, if they see someone who was selfish turn over a new leaf and do something self-less and still get what they want, it just may make them question their own selfish ways. In that one simple way, we are all our brother’s keeper.

So whether it be school, your marriage, a sport, or finishing that entire cheesecake by yourself, if it’s what you’re meant to do, do not give up. Ever. Eh…Ver… Stick to it for you and stick to it for the people who need your example. You could be an inspiration to someone! However, if you start turning into a football or a cheesecake quit and seek professional help immediately.

(Seriously, Black Swan gave me the heebee geebees for days…)

šŸ™‚

This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

8 Responses to The Marathon is Coming, The Marathon is Coming!

  1. Black Swan was creepy.

    Well it is so true that when people see someone turn a new leaf it is something that really makes people pay attention. Unfortunately people also like to see when others fall from grace. It has to do with the idea that people don’t have to be accountable to their own standards when the people who are in a higher position don’t live up to their standards.

    But I am happy to see you stick to your guns. Run, Ro, Run.

  2. joann williams says:

    Run marat in 4 mos. remember nanny’s BD party wkend of 10\14 other than that as i’ve come to expect your insight while trainin is inspirational it’s good to be reminded that evan neg behavior patterns can influence someone n God desire that we, his children,influence others in a positive way- to give them hope that things can work out – keep up the good work lady.

  3. Tonya says:

    Run Forrest Run…LOL, jk..I’m excited for u…the bible says I can so ALL things through Christ Jesus..who strengthens me/you/us…so my prayer will be for your strength..to the finishe line..because he’s in You, therefore you can do it!! Can’t wait to are your face when u cross that line..with your V’s in the air! #ohyesyoudo (victory) it belongs to you!

Leave a Reply

